Tags

, , , , , ,

Somehow I did not hear about World Poetry Day until this year, although evidently it’s been a thing since 1999. Perhaps I was too busy moving from California to North Carolina that year to think much about international poetry.

Anyway, in honor of World Poetry Day, here’s one of my favorite world poems:

A Walk
by Rainer Maria Rilke
translated by Robert Bly

My eyes already touch the sunny hill.
going far ahead of the road I have begun.
So we are grasped by what we cannot grasp;
it has inner light, even from a distance-

and charges us, even if we do not reach it,
into something else, which, hardly sensing it,
we already are; a gesture waves us on
answering our own wave…
but what we feel is the wind in our faces.

I also recommend, for today and every day, the Poetry Foundation Mobile App.

