Tags

, , , , , ,

Joss Whedon at the 2010 Comic Con in San Diego

Joss Whedon at the 2010 Comic Con in San Diego (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Seems like everyone’s talking, tweeting, blogging about Joss Whedon’s triumph with The Avengers. Believe me, I’m as stoked as anyone—or I would be, if I’d seen it, which I haven’t yet, for some very good reasons. But I will! Tomorrow! Looks like the movie made bazillion dollars without my $10, so that’s all right.

Here’s what I wanted to say, though: One thing that’s come up in many columns and interviews is “What’s next?” For example, this Wired column/poll, “What Should Joss Whedon Do Next?” The choices include “Astonishing X Men movie, new Star Trek TV series, continue Firefly, Buffy Season 8 for TV, Dr. Horrible 2, Avengers 2…” and “other” with a fill-in blank.

All those are great ideas, but I chose “other.”

Here’s what I think Joss Whedon should do next: “Anything he wants.”

As much as I loved Firefly, Buffy, and other projects on that list, I think Joss Whedon’s imagination shouldn’t be taking him back to stories he’s already told, or that someone else started–unless it’s someone truly great that he truly adores, like Shakespeare. Let’s just let him loose and see what he comes up with. If the past predicts the future, I’m pretty sure he’ll come up with a good surprise.

