There’s always too much to do and not enough time to do it in. Some student will lose track of the schedule and turn up late for the exam, or not at all. I know I’m not the only professor who’s still grading research papers that were turned in a week ago, or longer, but I’m not going to name any names. If we’re lucky, we get a “free” day in the midst of it all. I’m using mine to grade those papers. At home. Which isn’t as easy as it might seem when the cat wants to play. He repeatedly pushes his toy into some inaccessible place–under the couch, under the pantry door, behind my husband’s boots. Then he meows until I retrieve it and throw it for him to chase. Five or ten minutes later, the cycle repeats–except that the toy isn’t actually lost this time. The cat just wants attention. Eventually even he gets bored and takes a nap. And I take a break to write this!

