Tags

, ,

The Writer’s Almanac is highlighting Christmas stories, books, movies, and poems this week. With all the snow across North America (but not here!), the opening of Dylan Thomas’s A Child’s Christmas in Wales may bring back memories for many years to come:

One Christmas was so much like another, in those years around the sea-town corner now and out of all sound except the distant speaking of the voices I sometimes hear a moment before sleep, that I can never remember whether it snowed for six days and six nights when I was twelve or whether it snowed for twelve days and twelve nights when I was six.

I’m thinking particularly of my nephews in Canada–I expect they nearly always see a white Christmas–and my cousins who’ve just moved to Washington state, who are seeing more snow than they’ve seen in a long, long time. As for my part of the world, we expect rain, which will be “just like the ones I used to know” in the Congo, so I’m all right with that.

