Tags

, , , ,

First, I was wrong: it will take more than two posts to sum up the first week in London, partly because I had to spend most of Sunday afternoon wrestling with how to upload photos to the blog from the iPad (you don’t want to know; or if you do, e-mail me).

Monday 6/13: In the evening I went alone to see Much Ado about Nothing, with David Tennant & Catherine Tate, at Wyndham’s Theatre. I ordered this ticket way back in January, because everyone knew the show would be a sellout, which it is. It would have been great to take the whole group, but at the time, we didn’t have the final enrollments, and the tickets were non-refundable. Because even if only one of the students appreciates the deliciousness of the Doctor and Donna as Benedick and Beatrice, the production is a boatload of wacky ’80’s slapstick and verbal sparring, all fun and games until someone appears to have lost her virginity and tragedy is narrowly averted. The shape of Shakespeare’s plot is somewhat exaggerated by a long first act with all the fun set-up, followed by a very, very grim shorter second act with a few flashes of comic relief, until the final, required wedding+song+dance.

As the final itinerary worked out, the whole group will see a different production of Much Ado About Nothing at Shakespeare’s Globe later, so it will be interesting to compare the two.

*I wish I had originated this title, but I totally borrowed it from the West End Whingers review, which has all the details I haven’t included.

