Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Oh, all right–summer actually ended a few days ago, if you think Labor Day marks the end of summer. Or if the start of the school years marks the end of summer, then for me and other professors at my university, summer ended August 16, when we gathered for the annual “faculty orientation.” Students moved in the following weekend and classes began August 21. Summer has well and truly ended.

I’m declaring an end to this blog’s summer vacation, as well.

What did we do on our summer vacation? Taught summer school (British Lit 1); wrote and presented a paper at the 5th Biennial Slayage Conference on the Whedonverses, “Banter, Battles, and ‘Kissy th’ Face’: Sugarshock!‘s Quintessential Whedonverse.” Others have reported on the conference, and a comprehensive report (co-authored by Ian Klein, Ami Comeford, and me) will be published in Slayage later this year.

I enjoyed my first visit to the northwest, even if a week allowed only glimpses of Vancouver, BC, and Washington state. My cousins in Walla Walla took me to see the Pioneer Park Aviary. Just as we arrived, a double rainbow appeared over the park! Perfect.

I slipped in a couple days at the beach, thanks to an invitation from an aunt and uncle. All in all, a very good summer.

It’s near the beach!

Medieval literature, World literature survey, and first-year comp classes are well underway now with first paper assignments coming in soon. Next week, I’ll be traveling again, so expect some photos and color commentary.

